Iowa FFA Association

The FFA Mission

FFA makes a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth, and career success through agricultural education.

FFA Enrichment Center 1055 SW Prairie Trail Parkway Ankeny, IA 50023

Contact: Scott Johnson (712.790.2345)

www.iowaffa.com

NEWS RELEASE For Immediate Release

Montezuma FFA Wins Iowa FFA Farm Management CDE

The Montezuma FFA Chapter from Montezuma was named the Champion Team in the annual Iowa FFA Farm Management Career Development Event held at Iowa State University in Ames on April 23, 2013. Members of the first place team included: Katelyn Gregory, Colleen Johnston, Abigail Nelson, and Courtney Petersen. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Rick Swenson.. They will represent Iowa at the National Farm Management Career Development Event in Louisville, Kentucky, in October. The Diamond Trail FFA Chapter from Monroe was named the Reserve Champion Team. Members of the second place team included: Alexandria Samson, Nathan Vande Wall, Derrick Hoodjer, and Whitney Figland. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Edwin Ricks. Courtney Petersen, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma, was named the High Individual Overall in the competition. The Osage FFA Chapter from Osage was the winner of the Team Participation Activity.

FFA teams from 86 chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event designed to provide the student an opportunity to display their agricultural knowledge and skills in the area of Farm Management. The 321 individuals who participated in the event each completed an objective test which had three sections: economic principles, records and analysis, and risk management. All team members worked together to solve a problem related to break even analysis.

Dr. Ron Deiter, Professor of Economics at Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa, was the Career Development Event coordinator and prepared the test.

Recognition and awards for FFA member and chapters include; plaques for the first and second place individual and trophies for the first place individual and teams, Top Ten Rosettes for Teams and Individuals, as well as travel money for the winning chapter to participate in the National FFA CDE. Awards and plaques were sponsored by the Iowa Agricultural Development Authority and the Iowa Farm Business Association through the Iowa FFA Foundation.

Top 10 Teams

- 1 Montezuma FFA, Montezuma
- 2 Diamond Trail FFA. Monroe
- 3 Osage FFA, Osage
- 4 Iowa Falls-Alden FFA, Iowa Falls
- 5 Keota FFA. Keota
- 6 Cascade FFA, Cascade
- 7 Denison FFA, Denison
- 8 Moulton-Udell FFA, Moulton

Top 10 Individuals

Courtney Petersen, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Katelyn Gregory, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Marissa Kleve, Starmont FFA, Arlington Nathan Vande Wall, Diamond Trail FFA, Monroe Colleen Johnston, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Laura Tibbs, Iowa Falls-Alden FFA, Iowa Falls Dalton Martinek, Crestwood FFA, Cresco Derrick Hoodjer, Diamond Trail FFA, Monroe

Lakota Kirst, Osage FFA, Osage

Below is a list of chapters participating by medal group.

Gold Teams (32)

Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Diamond Trail FFA, Monroe

Osage FFA. Osage

Iowa Falls-Alden FFA, Iowa Falls

Keota FFA, Keota Cascade FFA, Cascade Denison FFA, Denison

Moulton-Udell FFA, Moulton

Valley FFA, Elgin

Holland FFA, Orange City Crestwood FFA, Cresco Starmont FFA, Arlington AGWSR FFA, Ackley Wapello FFA, Wapello

Collins-Maxwell FFA, Maxwell West Liberty FFA, West Liberty Hawkeye FFA, West Bend Roland-Story FFA, Story City Humboldt FFA, Humboldt Winterset FFA, Winterset Northeast FFA, Goose Lake Central Lee FFA, Donnellson Little Switzerland FFA, Waukon West Dubuque FFA, Epworth

Earlham FFA, Earlham Brokaw FFA, Clarinda Decorah FFA, Decorah

Columbus FFA, Columbus Junction

Newton FFA, Newton Monticello FFA, Monticello West Lyon FFA, Inwood South Hardin FFA, Eldora

Bronze Teams (20)

Rockford FFA, Rockford

Vinton-Shellsburg FFA, Vinton Webster City FFA, Webster City

Boone A&M FFA, Boone

OA-BCIG FFA

Nashua-Plainfield FFA, Nashua Southern Cal FFA, Lake City

Murray FFA, Murray

Silver Teams (34)

Manson-Northwest Webster FFA, Manson

Griswold FFA, Griswold Algona FFA, Algona

Mount Ayr FFA, Mount Ayr

New Hampton FFA, New Hampton

Chariton FFA, Chariton Harlan FFA, Harlan West Fork FFA

Guthrie Center Tiger FFA, Guthrie Center

Maquoketa Valley FFA, Delhi Rock Valley FFA, Rock Valley St. Ansgar FFA, St. Ansgar Creston FFA, Creston East Sac FFA, Lake View

Albia FFA, Albia Gilbert FFA, Gilbert

South O'Brien FFA, Paullina Oskaloosa FFA, Oskaloosa

Grundy Center FFA, Grundy Center

North Polk FFA, Alleman

West Marshall FFA, State Center

Alburnett FFA, Alburnett

MVAO FFA Chapter, Mapleton

Riceville FFA, Riceville Audubon FFA, Audubon Postville FFA, Postville

Nodaway Valley FFA, Greenfield LeMars Farm Youth FFA, LeMars Williamsburg FFA, Williamsburg

Bison FFA, Buffalo Center

Tri-Star FFA

Sioux Central FFA, Sioux Rapids Edgewood-Colesburg FFA, Edgewood

Hudson FFA. Hudson

Oelwein FFA, Oelwein
Pilot Creek FFA, Pocahontas
West Delaware FFA, Manchester
Sheldon FFA, Sheldon
Coon Rapids-Bayard FFA, Coon Rapids
Adair-Casey FFA, Adair
Orient-Macksburg FFA, Orient
Estherville FFA, Estherville
North Fayette FFA, West Union
Forest City FFA, Forest City
Kingsley Pierson FFA, Kingsley
Mediapolis FFA, Mediapolis

The Iowa FFA Association has 216 local chapters with over 13,400 FFA members. FFA is a national organization of more than 550,000 members preparing for leadership and careers in science, business and technology of agriculture. Local, state and national programs provide opportunities for students to apply knowledge and skills learned in the classroom. FFA's mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education.

#####